City of Emory
General Elections and Voting Information
Current Elected Officials
Mayor, Earl Hill III   Term Expires May 2025
Council Member 1, Jannie Stephens     Term Expires May 2023
Council Member 2, Travis Potts     Term Expires May 2025
Council Member 3, Lori Honeycutt     Term Expires May 2023
Council Member 4, Emery Cathey     Term Expires May 2025
Council Member 5, Blake Cooper     Term Expires May 2023


May 6, 2023 is the next General Election for the City of Emory with Council Members 1,3 and 5 expiring.

Early voting and election day voting will be held at Rains ISD Administration Office, located at 1759 W. US Hwy 69, Emory, Texas 75440. (If Rains ISD is able to cancel their election, the City of Emory General Election will be held at City of Emory located at 399 N. Texas Street, Emory, Texas 75440).

Municipal Elections for the Mayor and five City Council Members are held Bi-Annually in May. The Mayor and Council Members are elected at-large and serve a four (4) year term. City Council Candidate Packets can be picked up after January 1st the year of the election at City Hall, located at 399 N. Texas St., Emory, Texas 75440.


Council members are the city's legislators. Their primary duty is policy making, which includes identifying the needs of local residents, formulating programs to meet the changing requirements of the community, and measuring the effectiveness of ongoing municipal services.

Unless restricted by state law, each council member is entitled to vote on every item decided at a city council meeting and has full parliamentary privileges in council meetings, including the right to speak and make motions when recognized by the Mayor and the right to introduce new ordinances and amendments to existing ones.


1. Must be a United States Citizen;

2. Must be at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time of the election for which they are filing for;

3. Have been a resident of Texas for at least twelve (12) months as of the deadline for filing for the office.

4. Have resided in the City for at least six (6) months preceding election day.

5. Have a current voter registration certificate.

6. Not have been convicted of a felony for which he/she has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities.

7. Not have been deemed mentally incompetent by a final judgement of a court.


Be a United States Citizen;

Be a resident of the City of Emory (for Emory's Municipal Election)

Be 18 years of age (you may register at age 17 years and 10 months)

Not be a convicted felon (unless sentence is completed, including any probation or parole)

Not be declared mentally incapacitated by a court of law


Secretary of State Forms, Resources and Legal Library

State of Texas Voters Information

Texas Ethics Commission

Secretary of State Election Calendar